MUST SEE IN BELGRADE
THE BELGRADE FORTRESS
The fortress of Belgrade, more properly known as the Kalemegdan, sits a top one of the highest hills of Belgrade. It is currently a park open to all visitors. It was constructed in prehistoric times and is believed to be the oldest continually occupied section of Belgrade. It has a unique history, serving as a fortress for many famous natives and invading armies due to its key control over local trade routes. The walls of the fortress have been built, destroyed and rebuilt many times, and to this day it is still a site of much archaeological study and discovery
It is situated on the Belgrade Fortress, in the oldest part of Belgrade. With its well known exterior, Museum is one of the fortress’ symbols.
ST. PETKA CHAPEL
This contemporary church was built in 1937, above a miraculous spring , on Belgrade Fortress. In the Middle Ages, this was the site of a church where the holy remains of St. Petka (Paraskevi) were placed until 1521. The chapel still guards the saint’s hand, and the ill come to wash their face during spring. St. Petka is much venerated among Belgraders.
The main city square lined with the National Theatre building (completed in 1869), National Museum, and monument to Prince Mihailo built in 1882, popular with Belgraders as a meeting point. Once it was the location of the infamous Stambol Gate, the main gates to the Belgrade Fortress. Today this square hosts concerts, protests and various other events.
SKADARLIJA – BOHEMIAN QUARTER
The old bohemian quarter of Belgrade dates back to late 19th and early 20th century. It was back then when its kafane (taverns and restaurants) were a meeting place for many of the greatest figures of the cultural scene of the period. It is often compared with the Montmartre in Paris, both for its appearance and the cheerful, vigorous artists' atmosphere.
THE RESIDENCE OF PRINCESS LJUBICA
It was built by order of Miloš Obrenović in 1831. By its architectural composition and arrangement, the palace belongs to the Balkan style, with some western Baroque elements.
THE NATIONAL THEATRE
The National Theater of Belgrade was constructed in the 1ate 1860s and has served as the cultural center of Serbia ever since. It was built on what is now Republic Square by the finest Serbian architects and craftsmen who lived at the time, and it has remained a point of public pride ever since. The hall has been used for everything from meetings among Serbian rebels to the first formal parliaments, with the first Serbian constitution being drafted there in 1888. It remains open to this day, with Serbian plays being performed on a daily basis. Admission prices vary, as do the performances, and the massive size of the theater means that there may in fact be several performances going on at the same time.
Today there are two palace complexes in Belgrade – the one in town comprising the Old Palace (Stari dvor) and the New Palace (Novi dvor), and the one in Dedinje, which includes the Royal Palace (Kraljevski dvor) and the White Palace (Beli dvor). If you are taking a walk in the city center, in the very vicinity of Terazije Square you will find The Old and the New Palace. A very nice park in between will give you a chance to relax and enjoy the view of beautiful architecture. Today the Old Palace houses the Belgrade City Assembly and the Mayor’s Office. New Palace is the Office of the President of the Republic of Serbia.
THE ROYAL PALACE AND THE WHITE PALACE
The Royal Palace was built between 1924 and 1929, as a private residence of King Aleksandar. It consists of the Main Entrance Hall, the Blue Salon, King’s dining room, the library, King’s Study – authentically furnished, as well as the cinema. The art collection prides itself on its selection of paintings, made by prominent national and international painters. The Royal Palace is a representative mansion made of white marble, which has hosted many officials and eminent world leaders. The White Palace has salons and art objects which have the status of national treasure.
THE CITY PALACES
The City Palaces are located at the centre of Belgrade. At the beginning of the 20th Century the palaces consisted of the Old Konak and (at that time The New, known today as The Old Palace. Eventually the Old Konak building was removed and was substituted with the New Palace. In between the Old and The New Palaces there stood another building between World War I and World War II containing the offices of the Marshal of the Royal Court, Aides-de-Camps, Guards and Duty Officers, as well as garages and the Royal Mews. The Court Park was surrounded with an iron fence and stone guard posts. The Park still has some interesting botanical specimens.
THE OLD PALACE
This building was built in 1882 in academic style, with Renaissance decoration of the facades. The Architect was Aleksandar Bugarski. It was a representative building, originally embellished with two cupolas topped with large gilded Royal Crowns. Since the Palace was heavily damaged last century in both World Wars, the cupolas are now missing and the entire appearance of The Old Palace has somewhat changed. Some parts of the Palace are demolished (i.e., the Palace Chapel), other parts have changed appearance so much as to be unrecognizable (Grand Staircase, Throne Room, etc.).
THE NEW PALACE
This is adjacent to the Old Palace built during the Balkan Wars and The Great War 1913-1918. The Architect was Stojan Titelbah. The unfinished building was heavily damaged during the Austrian bombing of Belgrade and a thorough reconstruction had to take place before the Court officially moved in. The New Palace was put to regular use from 1922 until the completion of the Royal Palace of Dedinje, it was the official Home of King Alexander I and Queen Maria. The New Palace was the living quarters of the Royal Couple and King's Cabinet, and it was here that King and Queen entertained their private guests. After the assassination of the King in Marseilles in 1934, The New Palace was used as temporary location for the Museum of Prince Paul.
NIKOLA TESLA MUSEUM
It is a unique institution of science and culture in Serbia and in the world. It is the only museum in the world which preserves the original and personal inheritance of Nikola Tesla.
It is one of the oldest museums on the Balkans. The fund of Ethnographic museum contains more than 160 000 items and it is structured to present the pattern of traditional rural but also urbane culture of the Balkans.
THE MUSEUM OF YUGOSLAV HISTORY, JOSIP BROZ TITO MEMORIAL CENTER
The Museum of Yugoslav History was founded in 1996 by jointing the Josip Broz Tito Memorial Center and the Museum of Revolution of Yugoslav Ethnic Groups and Minorities. The Museum of Yugoslav History comprises the “25th of May” Museum, Kuća cveća (House of Flowers) and the Old Museum. The permanent exhibition includes Tito’s birthday batons – from those of local importance presented to him by pioneers, young people and various social and political organizations, to the ones presented on the republican and federal level dating from the period after 1957. The ethnographic collection of the Museum of Yugoslav History consists of more than 4000 exhibits.
SAINT SAVA TEMPLE
It is an Orthodox church which is dedicated to Saint Sava, founder of the Serbian Orthodox Church. The church is being built at the place where in 1595 Sinnan Pasha had the holy relics of St. Sava burned at the stake, after he had them brought over from the Mileševa Monastery. Because of its dominant position in Belgrade's cityscape, it represents the most monumental building in the city.
CHURCH OF THE HOLY MOTHER OF GOD (RUŽICA CHURCH)
It is located near north-east walls of Belgrade Fortress, under the Zindan gate. In the time of Despot Stefan Lazarević there was an old church of the same name, which was destroyed when the Turks conquered Belgrade in 1521. What is now the church, was gunpowder storage in the XVIII century, and turned into a military church in 1867-1869. It was heavily damaged after World War I and renewed in 1925.
THE ORTHODOX CATHEDRAL (SABORNA CHURCH)
It was built in 1837-1840 by order of Knez Miloš Obrenović, a according to the design and plans of A. F. Kverfeld, a builder from Pančevo. It is built in style of classicism with late baroque elements. The church is dedicated to St. Michael the Archangel. The interior is richly decorated. ParticularlY important is the cathedral treasury with ancient icons and richly adorned works of 17th - 20th master goldsmiths. The Serbian rulers Miloš Obrenović and Mihailo Obrenović are buried in the church crypt. Two other outstanding figures of the Serbian culture, Dositej Obradović and Vuk Stefanović Karadžić are buried in the churchyard.
Belgrade Synagogue Sukat Shalom is currently the only fully active Jewish place of worship in Serbia. It is located in downtown Belgrade. The synagogue is known in Belgrade as the "Kosmajska Temple", as its address before the World War Two was Kosmajska Street. The name of the street has since been changed to Maršala Birjuzova St .
CATHOLIC CHURCH OF SAINT PETER
This church is one of the most important catholic churches in Belgrade and the most reprezentative catholic church.It is very close to the city centre in Makedonska St.
THE BAJRAKLI MOSQUE
It was built around 1690, as a memorial of Sultan Suleiman II, after Belgrade newly fell into the hands of the Turks. At the time of its construction it was just one of tens of mosques in the city. During Austrian rule it was turned into a Catholic church. It was turned back into a mosque when the Turks returned to Belgrade. Along with all the changes the mosque changed its name several times. Finally, at the end of the 18th century it was named Bajrakli-mosque, after the flag (bajrak) which has been raised as a sign for simultaneous beginning of prayers in all mosques.