Must see in Novi Sad



The Austrian fortification that had been built for the whole century, used to accommodate a large garrison of soldiers and even 400 guns. It was there to watch over the border in Srem against the Turks during the XVIII and XIX centuries. Being older than Novi Sad itself, undamaged, beautiful in its stability and spreading across 112 ha of surface it can been seen from any of the windows of Novi Sad as one of the its parts. Today, the fortress provides a home to artist's studios, a museum and a hotel. Different cultural events take place on the Petrovaradin fortress – one of the largest and most popular is the summer musical festival EXIT that gathers around 250,000 to 350,000 young people.

Part of one of the biggest attractions of the Petrovaradin Fortress is open for visitors, with expert guidance of the Novi Sad City Museum guiding service. Underground military galleries are a gradual four-level communication system, with different corridors and rooms of various purposes and sizes, with loopholes and airshafts.

The freedom fighter made of bronze, Svetozar Miletic, looks upon the central city square. It is surrounded with the building of the Magistrate (contemporary City Hall), Financial Palace (contemporary Vojvodjanska Bank), Roman Catholic Church of the Name of Sain Mary, Tanurdzic’s Palace (the work of an architect Tabakovic) and hotel Vojvodina (where the head- office of the Serbian National Theatre used to be).The square is the heart of Novi Sad where it’s Administration, church, money, catering, Novi Sad pigeons etc.pulsate.

The most beautiful building on the square which used to serve as Magistrate, is the work of an architect Georgy Molnar dating back to 1895. It is the City Hall today and the centre of localadministration of municipality of Novi Sad. It was built in neo-renaissance style with 16 allegoric figures and the city coat of arms. A high tower with St.Florian’s bell stands out of its facade.

This street, as the favourite promenade of the citizens of Novi Sad, borders with the Danube Park and exits into the Danube bank.

A former depression, the lake that was turned into a park-forest in 1895 becoming a favourite promenade.The Swan’s Lake is in the centre of it while the bronze poets Branko Radicevic, Djura Jaksic and Miroslav Antic dwell in the vicinity of it. The most beautiful city park with 250 plant species and about hundred benches. A place for stop, love, read, think…..

The former Main Street, which was also colloquially called the Shopping street, stretches from The Liberty Square to the Bishop’s Hall. It is the car free zone today. It got its contemporary appearance after 1848, namely after the bombardment of Novi Sad from Petrovaradin Fortress.The street used to be the market place before and a train used to run through it. From the very beginning, Zmaj Jovina Street has been breathing with civic spirit, urban architecture and business-commercial busyness.

The monument made in bronze, in natural size, was placed in the vicinity of his birth house, in the
street holding the same name. The monument stands so that everyone can see it and it was built
in honour of a famous fellow-citizen- a physician, poet for children and adults, the one who treated
his people both with stethoscope and a pen.

It was founded in Budapest in 1847 , within Matica Srpska. Today it is in the former court building,
designed in classicist style in 1900, by Gyla Wagner.It presents a long history of creation of Vojvodina
through material “evidences” of its complex, multi-national culture.

The central building of the museum is located on the upper plateau of the Petrovaradin Fortress.
Ground floor of the building contains a permanent exhibition, the Petrovaradin Fortress in the Past, which presents the continuity of inhabitation and military fortifications of this locality, from prehistory to the World War I. On the first floor there is the Study Exhibition of the Department of Cultural History, which depicts the civil life of Novi Sad from the middle of the 18th century to the second half of the 20th century. Besides period furniture and objects of applied art, the exhibition displays pieces of renowned artists – Sava Šumanovic, Djordje Jovanović, Boško Petrović, Milenko
Šerban, and others.

One cannot avoid seeig the “ring” with the names of its establishers from 1826 at the entrance of its
monumental building. In 1826, Matica Srpska moved to Novi Sad and in 1926 it settled in this contemporary building. It encompases the library with 2 500 000 publications and publishers the oldest literary magazine in Europe – Letopis Matice Srpske (Matica Srpska Chronicle). Matica Srpska keeps rare and old books along with the latest aditions. It is to be attributed the highest merits for the fact that Novi Sad is also known under its “second” name- Serbian Athens.

The oldest Serbian professional theatre, which was established in Novi Sad in 1861, had been changing its location several times and it settled finally in its contemporary building in 1981. The theatre is organized in three ensembles – Drama, Opera(since 1920) and Ballet(since 1950).The bronze statue of Sterija Popovic that is placed in front of the Theatre introduces the audience in Sterija’s Theatre Day- the most prestigious review of theatre achievement in our country.

In addition to its monument value it is also a silent reminder of a large Jewish enclave in the city that
suffered tragically during the World War II. The neighbouring building of the former Jewish school
accommodates the Ballet School today.In 1991 the Jewish community assigned the Synagogue to the city to use it exclusively for artistic events.