THE REPUBLIC OF SERBIA. It contains two autonomous provinces: Vojvodina and Kosovo-Metohija
AREA: 88,361 km²
CLIMATE: Temperate continental climate, with a gradual transition between the four seasons of the year
POPULATION: around 8 milions
LANGUAGE: The official language is Serbian and the script in official use is Cyrillic, while Latin script is also used
CAPITAL: Belgrade (Beograd), with a population of 1,8 millions, is the administrative, economic and cultural centre of Serbia
OTHER BIG CITIES: Novi Sad, Niš,Kragujevac, Priština
GOVERNMENT: Democratic republic. The president and the parliament are elected every four years in general elections
RELIGION: Christian Ortodox


The Republic of Serbia is situated in central part of the Balkan Peninsula which makes it stand in the central and south-eastern Europe. Serbia shares borders with Bulgaria, Romania, Hungary, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Albania and Montenegro. It also includes two autonomous provinces – Vojvodina in the north of the country with its capital city - Novi Sad and Kosovo in the south of the country with the capital of Pristina. The main tourism potential of Serbia is, with no doubt, the river Danube – the longest river in Europe. The total length of the Danube through Serbia is 588km which makes the area densely populated and economically most developed in the country. Apart from that, Serbia has many resorts, spas, mountains, lakes and other natural beauties worth seeing. The medieval monasteries are national heritage and hardly anywhere in this region will you find as many as here. The official language is Serbian, read and written in both Cyrillic and Latin script.